This post marks the beginning of my reflections for my final assessment for Composition in Music Education. So far, I do not know how far I can break away from my model, so my initial steps will follow my model closely. While my model made use of GarageBand for iOS and Mac, I will be using real instruments (which were an option in my model) and recording them in either Logic or Ableton. I will use the E Dorian mode as it works perfectly with the instruments I have, which are in the blank score template below.

irish-music
A rough blank score I created for the instruments I initially wish to use in my original composition.

As I am a guitarist, I am combining the Celtic instruments with an electric guitar and bass. I will also tune the guitar to DADGAD tuning to break away from the typical chord voicings.

Using the chords from my model (see below), I will start composing a chord progression and recording it into my DAW. Throughout following reflections, I will post exported progress recordings.

screen-shot-2016-10-03-at-10-44-27-am
E Dorian

 

My model from assignment 2 took from Miriam Stockley’s Perfect Day, and took a “use the mode” approach. See the video below, although, you may need to watch it on the official YouTube page.

Breaking the piece down by section:

  1. 4 Bar Chord progression Intro.
  2. Piano chords and melody on piano.
  3. Melody transferred to voice with harmony on other instruments.
  4. B section with a different melody on the voice.
  5. A section returns with an instrumental solo with the pipes, flute, horn, and strings sharing the melody.
  6. B section repeats with the voice.
  7. A section melody on voice.
  8. Outro on pipes.

I simplified this in my model to just a simple A and B section, and it ends with students arranging the material for both sections how they like and changing what instrument plays the melodic line.

