Moving on with my composition scaffold steps, I sketched a bassline using GarageBand for iOS. In my scaffold I made use of the smart bass, however, I used the onscreen keyboard instead because I wanted more control of passing notes. This isn’t harshly breaking away from my model as it allows adept students to record their own instruments if they wish. It didn’t take me long as all to improvise a bassline, and it is subject to change when I record my real bass guitar, as it is likely I will add embellishments. The line I quickly added was mainly root note based with some passing notes.

Below are screenshots from my iPad.

IMG_1238.PNG IMG_1239.PNG

From this stage, I will move to Logic Pro instead of GarageBand for the remainder of my composition. However, I will still be following my model’s steps until I go beyond them.

