Looking back through my blog I realised I hadn’t posted a blog on the final class. While the class was a quick overview of what we looked at during the course (see all my lecture posts here as I have already covered it), there was something new. As someone who is almost constantly using technology, I suffer the effects of connection stress and this class provided some insight on how to actually cope in the new world. I usually make an effort to be contactable by people so I can help them out quickly or so I can continue work on collaboration projects and my contracted work. James Humberstone taught us about GTD (Getting Things Done) which comes from the corporate world.

gtd-3-1.png
from https://www.toodledo.com/info/gtd.php 

The chart above shows the method you can use to process your tasks to reduce your stress levels by not thinking about everything at once. I usually rely on my memory to do everything and I can almost always successfully rely on it without taking notes, however, recently with the crazy busy assessment schedule, I found myself forgetting things here and there and succumbing to extreme stress levels. A program you can use to manage your tasks is Wunderlist, which will allow you to implement GTD theory. When I was shown this in class, It broke down all the things you needed to do each day and it showed that there was less to have on your mind by breaking it down. I know when Im carrying the weight of what I need to do in a fortnight in my memory alone (I don’t have a diary) can be very taxing on stress levels, so this could be a very helpful for breaking down the actionable tasks for each day. Another way of dealing with connection stress is to not have Facebook and Emails constantly open and to use it at selected times.

James Humberstone also touched on being an enthusiastic cynic by taking on all the technologies while also questioning why we do it. Don’t just use new technology for the sake of using technology as the hype cycle reveals that it could be ineffective.

