Last year I made a resource in Scratch to use in the classroom on an interactive whiteboard. I thought it would be good to pass it on, along with the scratch project so people can see how I did it. I changed the sounds from frog sounds to an electronic drum sequencer to make it more usable straight off the bat. I converted the scratch projects to swf files, so you can open them in Flash Player (or a browser).

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 1.17.22 pm.pngAs you can see in the demo video, it is a very simple step sequencer and suffers slightly with timing. You can download the scratch project file here and the swf here. For the electronic drum sequencer, you can get the project here and the swf here.

I searched around for step sequencers in Scratch when I was learning it last year. I based it off one of the projects I found and I expanded it to have 4 different sounds instead of 2. It takes advantage of the “touching colour” sensing script and when the playhead touches the box with the colour, it triggers the sound.

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 1.23.24 pm.png

I added dice and extra features to be used in the classroom. I used the die or dice to bring mathematics into it to allow the students to determine how many pads they were allowed to turn on. For example, if a student rolled a 6 and a 3, they could do 6+3=9 and they could turn on 9 pads. The dice are completely random thanks to the operator scripts, which randomly generates a number between 1-6. The number rolled then changes the graphic one of the 6 “costumes” in Scratch.

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 1.44.23 pm.png
When roll is clicked, it triggers the event to change the costume
Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 1.45.55 pm.png
The 6 costumes and the graphic editor (vector mode)
