In one sitting, I created the planned melodic dictation sheets and cut out music excerpts. My process for creating them involved notating a melody in Sibelius to create the answer sheet and then saving a duplicate to hide notes. Looking at examples provided in class (from past papers), I gave the starting and ending notes, and occasionally provided notes throughout the dictation to anchor students’ listening.

The first dictation is based on repetition to segue to the program’s focus piece, Light Music by Matthew Hindson. I created a sight singing melody alongside this dictation and included it on the same sheet to allow students to move from one activity to the next.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.49.20 pm.png

The pages are very black and white, however, the exam is not decorated in world class art so there is gravity in retaining the clinical appeal of the exam.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.32.41 pm.png

In excerpts that used a real recording, I cut the music using QuickTime as seen below.Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.53.38 pm.png

 

For one of the dictations, I based the melody off bars 20-24/29-33 in A Single Match to link the dictation to the repertoire. The repertoire is filled with lots of passages that are unsuitable for most dictation purposes, however, I believe this passage is completely usable. I link this dictation to further aural work on the piece as students have to identity where the material comes from in the score and provide bar numbers. The original passage has no key signature but I added that in because that is what it worked out being.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.58.03 pm.png

I provided the triplet bracket to anchor the students as well in the question. Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.58.34 pm.png

 

In interest of having the students dictate on bass clef, I simply used the cello passage from my own piece The Witch Hunt, as there is a countermelody above it on the violin and a pizzicato ostinato on the second violin.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 12.06.09 am.png

When it came to other dictations that I composed, I just used a Sibelius audio file export (with NotePerformer) as the listening excerpt.

