Stemming from the original score, I created a new score in C so all C instruments can pick a part to play. I then created another Sibelius file in Bb, however, in thinking of most Bb instruments, I had to make some adjustments. I also included tablature and a part in Eb to tick more boxes for potential students. While it is Music 2, guitarists may have reading ability but contemporary teaching leans to tablature as it is effective for speed. I am also a guitarist and while I can read music, I can sight read tablature more proficiently. Allowing students to learn their parts quickly is optimal for this kind of arrangement so they can focus on the experience and assess the set work musicologically from a performance angle.

As you can see below, I notated octaves so students can pick an octave that is playable to them. The students with trumpets in Bb will not have to stress so much to play it. I did the same throughout in other parts when extremes of register might be unsuitable for the classroom.Octaves.png

I exported each score as a video to include in the iBook so students have it as an aural learning resource (Green, 2008).

I have included a time-accelerated screen recording of me correcting the tablature for human hands rather than Sibelius’ automatic attempt.

References:

Green, L. (2008). The project’s pedagogy and curriculum content. In Music, informal learning and the school: A new classroom pedagogy. England: Ashgate.

