I included my own electroacoustic composition as additional repertoire because I know it really well and I was tutored by Ivan Zavada when I was composing it. I believe it shares many characteristics to A Single Match as chords are not built on 3rds (naturally as a result of working with 19-TET and the harmonic series). It links to the previous composition task in that chords have notes that sustain into each other and there are melodic fragments above it. It is also a curveball comparison to acoustic music but it helps develop skills for finding similarities and contrasts.

Taking from my composition folio, I took my diagram which explains the structure of the piece in an abstract way. Thinking mathematically, the X axis is time, the Y axis is sound’s relation to the frequency spectrum (low = bass), and the darkness refers to intensity of sound.

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.20.57 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.40.18 pm.png

I developed questions that linked it to A Single Match and allowed students to think about the piece as a more standalone example. As there is no traditional score, I included the graphic and asked the question for students to decipher what it represents.

